PDA

View Full Version : Computer problems go from bad to worse

renzokuken
April 9th, 2006, 03:26 PM
ok, last might my computer blew up. Assumed it was the PSU and i have just replaced it.

I powered it on with the case lid off and almost immediately a small fire started on my motherboard......F**K !!!

Ok, i have checked the manual and the bit that caught fire/melted/burned out just smokes both times i tried powering on since.

My mobo is an Asus A8V Deluxe........the bit causing the problem (if problem is an appropriate word) is the USBPWR56/USBPWR78 which is responsible for "USB device wake-up"

Is this going to be a case of an expensive repair job or just a brand new motherboard altogether?????

Any advice would be really helpful, especially from someone who works in PC repairs regarding costs!!

Thanks

PapaWiskas
April 9th, 2006, 03:34 PM
Well if you brought this to my support team, I work in IT...I would be changing out the Motherboard, without a doubt.

Sorry. I know that is probably not what you wanted to hear. But unless you do a bunch of circuit testing, you truly dont know what all has been damaged or if it will continue to damage other parts and burn up something else.

Fire is bad.

Stormy Eyes
April 9th, 2006, 03:46 PM
Is the motherboard under warranty? Just replace it, dude.

renzokuken
April 9th, 2006, 03:50 PM
Thats the answer i was expecting to be honest..........

oh well........gonna have to be a new mobo, thats another £100 off of my "hi-fi speaker fund".

anyone recommend a decent socket-939 mobo with an AGP slot that supports PC3200 (DDR400) ram?

i'f you'll excuse me im gonna go cry for a while

Stew2
April 9th, 2006, 04:57 PM
Ouch! My condolences on the board. That sucks! Isn't Asus's warranty something like 3 years? I have two Asus boards, I will have to check the warranty card, I dont know if it is diffrent from Canada to the UK though. Weird too... Asus boards are usually pretty much infallable.
Regards,
Stew