PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Keyboard layout - very frustrating

Sciezyna
September 14th, 2010, 01:37 PM
I am new to Linux. Installed the Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid (Gnome desktop). During the install I selected USA keyboard as default to avoid any 'funny' system installation problems.

I am searching for solved problem regarding USA keyboard forcing itself even though I:

Installed Polish layout - works.
Swapped Alt-L with Alt-R (System/Preferences/Keyboard)
Made Polish layout default (System/Preferences/Keyboard)
Removed the USA keyboard (System/Preferences/Keyboard)

The USA keyboard comes back as the default regardless. I do not need the USA keyboard as default I need the Pl keyboard. Is this a hint that anything American must be better? ;)

Additionally the Gnome desktop panel crashes from time to time but I am used to things like that because I used MS-DOS and Windows for the last ~20 years...

It is now second week of searching and well over a hundred searches all over the Internet, Linux and Ubuntu forums. It seems there is nobody who actually knows or gives two hoots. The only listings I found are hundreds of users with the same problem - not solved.

Yes I am irritated because I heard so many prizes of Linux and its superiority over Windows. I am still convinced that Linux is a good choice for me, however...

As I see it, (maybe I am a moron) a keyboard is a basic input tool for any computer - basic (including mobiles, washing machines, Air Conditioners, CALCULATORS and a light switch, and more).

Is here anybody looking through here, from the Linux development team and reading any of this? DO they care? Don't they have 'agents to do it?

The only thing I got VERY CLEARLY from the multitude of post by 'very experienced users' I read here is "Don't mess with the 'root' account" OK I will not!

Yes I can keep hitting the 'Kb' switch applet on the panel if someone tells me that "nobody knows how to fix the problem and that is the way".