PDA

View Full Version : Writing a resume tailored towards helpdesk positions

mengfei
September 14th, 2010, 02:42 AM
Hi guys!

I know this is an odd question but I really need help.

Long story short, I'm a college student who desperately needs to get an internship and/or co-op.

Although I'm a science major, I'm looking to land a position at anything IT, most probably a helpdesk position because I have worked for four some years at my school's helpdesk as student manager.

Since I'm not in the IT college, do any of you in the industry have tips on how to make my resume shine for such positions as well as how to confront recruiters?

Again, I apologize if this is inappropriate for this forum but I really need the help. I'm a failing premed student! :p

Jesus_Valdez
September 14th, 2010, 03:03 AM
Try asking this at the Community Cafe sub-forum.

wojox
September 14th, 2010, 03:07 AM
If you worked for four some years at your school's help desk as student manager, you shouldn't have a problem finding a job at Help Desk Support. Most of the positions these days require patience and to be kind. Learn the software / hardware well and use the program they give you to answer a majority of the questions asked.

mengfei
September 14th, 2010, 03:08 AM
Unfortunately I'm not a computer-related major, and the last two years I tried to find something... no luck.

I'm doing everything I can to be better prepared this time though.

I'm looking to get an idea of what IT employers look for on resumes and during recruiting/interviews.

slooksterpsv
September 14th, 2010, 03:43 AM
They want experience, they want knowledge. I could give you an example from my resume if you'd like. PM me and I can send it to you so you can see how all these companies are trying to contact me for Helpdesk positions.

Rocket2DMn
September 14th, 2010, 03:53 AM
Moved to the Community Cafe.

cprofitt
September 14th, 2010, 04:00 AM
http://www.bestsampleresume.com/help-desk-resumes.html