slipk487
April 9th, 2006, 06:53 AM
what does everyone think is better

aysiu
April 9th, 2006, 06:55 AM
Better at what?

taurus
April 9th, 2006, 06:57 AM
First machine I built was Intel. The next two were AMD and it will be AMD from now on...

5-HT
April 9th, 2006, 07:03 AM
From what I've read, my next system (oh so desperately needed but with no funds for) will use AMD. They seem to be outperforming Intel in a lot of factors at the moment.

krusbjorn
April 9th, 2006, 07:09 AM
From what I've read, my next system (oh so desperately needed but with no funds for) will use AMD. They seem to be outperforming Intel in a lot of factors at the moment.

Yeah. And I'm also using AMD because their philosophy when it comes to how to run a huge company seems better than Intel's. But of course, that could just be imagination from my side.

Perhaps this thread should go to Ubuntu Cafe instead of Absolute Beginner Talk, by the way.

KansasJoe
April 9th, 2006, 07:15 AM
Just got a new comp with the Pentium D dual core processor and it's smoking fast....don't know why but i prefer pentium over amd and nvidia over ati (even before i started using linux as far as video cards are concerned)....again no reason why just always used pentium and always will because i've never had any problems with them

GoA
April 9th, 2006, 07:37 AM
Currently AMD but next one will probaly be intel Conroe. I want that baby soooo much.

Derek Djons
April 9th, 2006, 09:46 AM
In my opinion this poll isn't right. Because as aysiu for example stated... better at what?

It's commenly known that AMD is usually better in Office and Gaming duties and the Intel is better in Sound / Video editing.

But for people there are even more aspects to to think about before chossing between the two processors. Money is such an aspect.

Bandit
April 9th, 2006, 09:58 AM
In my opinion this poll isn't right. Because as aysiu for example stated... better at what?