PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] I'm new To kubuntu

VH-BIL
September 13th, 2010, 10:24 AM
Hi,

I have just switched to KDE because I don't like the upcoming gnome shell.

What I wanted to know is, does the KDE bar have a window list that is not a popup menu like gnome or windows and can I move widgets to the right of the bar or do they just group to the left?

Thanks.

VH-BIL
September 13th, 2010, 11:09 AM
I worked out the right align widgets using spacers but still need to know if there is a windows list widget for displaying open windows not using using a popup menu.

3Miro
September 13th, 2010, 11:50 AM
How is the default KDE task bar different from Gnome's. What do you mean "popup" menu, do you mean that they give you previews when you hover the mouse over. Check the properties and you should be able to disable the popup.

VH-BIL
September 13th, 2010, 12:39 PM
How is the default KDE task bar different from Gnome's. What do you mean "popup" menu, do you mean that they give you previews when you hover the mouse over. Check the properties and you should be able to disable the popup.

I do not have an "open application" window list that lists the applications horizontally across the bar. I have an icon that I click an then a popup menu displays a list of open applications. how do I get the horizontal window list with previews etc.

Thanks for your reply.

3Miro
September 13th, 2010, 12:58 PM
At the bottom right corner of the panel, there is the "KDE Cashew", if you click on it, you will activate settings for the panel. If the "Cashew" doesn't appear, there should be one on the top right corner, click on that one and select "unlock widgets".

Once you enter the panel settings, you can change a lot of things. You can access preferences for different "widgets" like the menu, access folder, taskbar and so on. You will probably have to add new widget "taskbar". Check out the otherones as well, there are even more widgets in the repositories.

VH-BIL