PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] unable to install grub

xenton
September 12th, 2010, 10:02 PM
Hi,

I've only ever dealt with windows before, this is my first time so please bear with me.

I have a dual boot windows 7 xp system with the windows 7 bootloader handling things.

My system consits of 2 raid arrays with 2 hd each

The first array has my xp and win 7 installs on and a fair bit of unpartitioned space.

Second array has one large NTFS partition where my documents, music etc. is stored.

I made a new unformatted partition of 20 gigs for linux and one of 2 gigs for the swap file in windows.

Installed unbuntu 10.04 from CD, I was amazed when it saw my raid arrays immediately and felt realived.

All went well until it tried to install grub and it failed couldn't install to dev/sda.

I've done some reading on here and I gather I need to install to the raid array rather than one of it's partitions.

Will this overwrite the win 7 boot loader?

I was planning to use EasyBCD to add grub to my win 7 boot loader as I will be primarily using windows 7, at least at first.

If grub does overwrite my win 7 boot loader will it see both my xp and win 7 installs, and can you set it to boot to an OS of choosing after a timeout like the win 7 bootloader.

Thanks for your time.

Troublegum
September 12th, 2010, 10:34 PM
Hi,
All went well until it tried to install grub and it failed couldn't install to dev/sda.

I've done some reading on here and I gather I need to install to the raid array rather than one of it's partitions.

What exactly went wrong? Was there any error message?

Will this overwrite the win 7 boot loader?

I think Win 7 install its boot loader in the MBR of its disk. That's grubs first choice too, so with default settings, grub will overwrite the Win 7 bootloader.