PDA

View Full Version : Linux! there is joy here! (I can't get enough)

ironhoof
September 11th, 2010, 07:15 AM
I am just full of Ubuntu Linux joy, and felt like talking about it.

WARNING: This is long, and most likely boring.

I switched to Linux back in April. I had an old computer with Win ME on it. Windows ME was WAY out dated by last April (It was outdated when it came out). I am a hobbyist programmer, and I do it just for fun. I was at a loss because I had nothing else I could put on the computer other than Win ME, and I could not even download newer web browsers. I sat around thinking what I could do. I remembered 'Linux', and I quickly did a search, and picked up the first one I came across, Xubuntu. (How fitting! It was an older computer!).

I tried the live CD and everything suddenly didn't suck. I tried to install it, and well... it failed to run after install the first time. I put windows back in, and for a week I played with the live CD. I just loved it so much, and gave it a second go. This time it worked I had to learn a whole bunch of commands in a hurry to fix it to run. I was finally away from windows, and I knew it would be different.

I had a sheet of paper as long as my leg with Linux commands on it. I highlighted all bad/malicious commands, and made massive note to avoid them. Linux was just like the computing I remembered! Things just worked and they work well. You could change more than just the colors. You could change the DE, and make it look like anything! I then got a new computer, and put in an extra HDD. I put Linux on both drives. I put Ubuntu on as the main OS and Kubuntu on the second. I was addicted at this point, and downloaded every Linux distro I could find. I read everything I could find about Linux. I read long documentations on every aspect, including programming!