PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help getting GNOME up and running

K3fka
September 10th, 2010, 12:07 AM
Hey guys, I'm K3fka. I'm new to the world of Linux, so I would really appreciate some help with this. I just got Ubuntu to install, which is great. However, during the part of the installation that involved setting up software, something went wrong. I used the alternate installer and toward the end of that step, it told me the step failed. I simply skipped the step because of this. The result: I've got Ubuntu going, but it's only the command line. I need some help getting GNOME installed from here. I searched and saw people saying to use sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop, but that just fills my screen with messages about missing files. I would really appreciate some help with this!

tommcd
September 10th, 2010, 03:41 AM
However, during the part of the installation that involved setting up software, something went wrong. I used the alternate installer and toward the end of that step, it told me the step failed. ...
Exactly what step failed?
Did you run the option: "check disc for defects" when you booted from the alternate CD to verify that the CD was good? If not, then you should do that now to make sure the CD is not corrupted.

For installing the Ubuntu desktop:
Did you run apt-get update first?

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

And welcome to the Ubuntu forums!

K3fka
September 11th, 2010, 02:32 AM
Okay, I just tried to verify the CD. It told me that packages.tar.gz failed the checksum test. I don't know how the file could've been altered since I downloaded it from here. So I somehow have to get a correct packages.tar.gz, so how would I do this? Thanks for the help, by the way! :)

tommcd
September 11th, 2010, 02:55 AM