PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] (GNOME) Thunderbird for two users

Sciezyna
September 9th, 2010, 08:11 PM
I am very new to Ubuntu (5 days). I run version 10.04 GNOME.

My problem is (after substantial searching) that I need to have both users ('juliusz' and 'sarah') running Thunderbird but with the same profile (settings, email, accounts etc. preferably of 'juliusz'). The only results on the internet are share Thunderbird between Windows and Ubuntu.

It probably is very easy to setup for the more advanced users for me it seems impossible.

So:

I have two users juliusz and sarah.
I need either of them to have the same profile, always in synch whenever they logon to own account.

When I tried to edit sarah's /home/sarah/.mozilla-thunderbird/profile.ini by inserting:

Path=/home/juliusz/.mozilla-thunderbird/xxxxxxx.default

after i run Thunderbird for 'sarah' I get message: "Thunderbird is already running, but is not responding. To open a new window, you must first close the existing Thunderbird process, or restart your system."

I checked with "ps aux" there is no Thunderbird running in sarah's session. There is no Thunderbird running in juliusz's session when I reloged to juliusz.

Please help.

Thank you.

oldfred
September 9th, 2010, 08:32 PM
Not quite sure what it is you are doing. It is that you have two totally different users in Ubuntu but only one email account for both of you?

You are probably into permission and ownership issues as the thunderbird profile in your home only has your rights.

I share my thunderbird but it is in a separate NTFS partition do I can boot windows or my other Ubuntu installs and have the same profile.

I do not know a lot about setting this up but I think you may want a separate folder/partition for shared data. I saved this post which a user wants to share a music folder with two users.

Two users to share music folder - group & permissions -BoneKracker:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1484221