PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem using virtualenvwrapper

RobWilliams
September 9th, 2010, 06:22 PM
I have been using Python and Ubuntu for several years, but I encountered an interesting twist recently. I am configuring several robust Python development environments and I discovered that I want to use virtualenvwrapper to manage them. However, installation turned out to be a bit interesting. I found a little guidance on the web, but nothing that quite addressed my issue or solution.

I used this installation note (http://woot.foomor.com/post/445180489/installing-virtualenv-virtualenvwrapper-with-pip-on), which starts with just the standard python (Python 2.6) installation. It recommends installing python-dev (I didn't) and build-essentials (already had it).

I had previously installed python-pip and python-virtualenv packages, which I completely removed. As advised, I wanted the latest versions and I wanted to be able to upgrade at my leisure. I am willing to accept the risks associated with that choice, in this case.

Based on some other advice I found on the web that I mixed in, here is what I did.
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install python-setuptools
sudo easy_install pip
sudo pip install virtualenv
sudo pip install virtualenvwrapper
sudo pip install virtualenvwrapper.project
sudo pip install virtualenvwrapper.bitbucket
I then created a BASH script that I invoke from my ~/.bashrc:
# Configure Mercurial
export HGUSER=username

# Configure TMPDIR for virtualenvwrapper
export TMPDIR=$HOME/temp
[[ ! -e "$TMPDIR" ]] && mkdir "$TMPDIR"

# Configure WORKON_HOME for virtualenvwrapper
export WORKON_HOME=/var/user/$USERNAME/virtualenv
[[ ! -e "$WORKON_HOME" ]] && mkdir "$WORKON_HOME"

# Configure PIP to use virtualenvwrapper
export PIP_VIRTUALENV_BASE=$WORKON_HOME

# Configure virtualenvwrapper.bitbucket
export VIRTUALENVWRAPPER_BITBUCKET_USER=$HGUSER

# Activate virtualenvwrapper
source /usr/local/bin/virtualenvwrapper.sh