PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Sound stopped working?

ericrcan
September 9th, 2010, 01:11 AM
Hey there everyone. I am new to ubuntu (and new to linux) and am really having some fun with it. I have a Toshiba NB205 netbook and installed Ubuntu 10.4 lts on it and everything was working fine. The bluetooth, sound, wifi, everything! Now yesterday the sound stopped working all of a sudden... I can put in headphones and listen to it, but even in the headphones it sound terrible. It speeds up and slows down and skips. Anyone have any idea how to fix this? I tried updating using
System> Administration>Update Manager and I also tried
sudo apt-get update but to no avail.. Like I said, I am new so I do not really know the terminal (switching from windows, I know some DOS), but I am ready to learn. Any help would be great!

tommcd
September 9th, 2010, 02:02 AM
Did you install Ubuntu on the Toshiba using Wubi? Or did you do a real Ubuntu install to a linux partition on your hard drive?
Anyway, try adding:

options snd-hda-intel model=asus-mode4
to your: /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf file. Reference:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/HardwareSupport/Machines/Netbooks/ToshibaNB205
Fist, back up the file for safety. Open a terminal and run:

sudo cp /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf.orig
Then to edit the file, use an easy text editor like gedit. Form the terminal run:

gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
This will open the alsa-base.conf file with super user write access using the gedit text editor. Then just add options snd-hda-intel model=asus-mode4 to the end of the file by starting a new line right after the last line. Save the file and then reboot.
After rebooting, run alsamixer in the terminal and move all the volume levels up using the arrow keys. If any levels have a "m" below them, it means they are muted. Unmute them by toggling the "m" key. Hit the Esc key to exit alsamixer.
Hope this helps.