PDA

View Full Version : Advice on a general purpose language

holocene
September 8th, 2010, 09:56 PM
Hello,

I am interested in a programming language that can implement these kinds of solutions:

Provide a GUI interface to the user, [and a console interface if possible].
Solve problems on the desktop that are largely non-internet connected. From one off type things to larger applications. I realize that the one-off requirement may be a problem.
Solve problems on the desktop that involve the internet, principally, database access, like MySQL. In a browser and not.
Useful for server side coding.
Lead to a career.

Initially, I thought that Ruby might fill the bill, but I have a suspicion that Ruby might be really unsuitable [or a weak choice] for GUI. Or, maybe I should say there might be better choices...

From my reading, I believe Java might fill the bill on most of these points. However, I've read that, like Ruby, Java may be "weak" as a GUI tool.

My background is mostly SQL and database operations, with some c. Though lately I have spent a lot of time on Ruby, and am a OOP convert. From browsing the Java tutorials, I see strong similarities to Ruby and c (c for {} and that kind of thing). My gut feeling on Java is that it looks good, those verbose compared to Ruby.

Any tips or comments appreciated.
Steve.

ibuclaw
September 8th, 2010, 10:11 PM
I think C++ makes a good general purpose language, so long as you keep it simple and don't use any of it's inane features (outside of classes, class inheritance, and operator overloads). But hey, I'm biased. ;)

GenBattle
September 8th, 2010, 11:36 PM
The number of jobs for C++ web programmers these days is basically a rounding error. Don't get me wrong, it's a handy language to know for server-side programming, but it is very large and cumbersome for small one-off jobs.