PDA

View Full Version : KDE apps under Gnome

arcelivez
September 8th, 2010, 02:38 AM
Hello,

Why do we devalue KDE apps? Or is it just me?
I wanted to ask for you opinion guys. Somewhat I am rather new to Linux and Ubuntu. But somehow I intuitively try to avoid installing kde apps if possible, I try to see whether the gnome alternative is available. Using KDE apps is in a way more like using windows apps through Wine, even though, they work fine and stable most of the time I guess? Or am I wrong?

What do you people think? Using KDE apps under Gnome?

All I've seen discussed on forums about this was that KDE apps install some additional KDE libraries. Considering my personal experience I've used Amarok and some Umbrello, they both have some bugs under Gnome.

So is it really better to prefer gnome apps so much more than KDE apps? Since I hear there are really great apps on KDE like KTorrent for instance.

Is it always buggy when it comes to KDE apps under Gnome or should I just install the apps freely, not caring whether it's for Gnome or KDE?

I really am interested to discuss this with you guys, since I don't have a big mileage with Ubuntu and I avoid KDE apps, I also wonder how other new users react to KDE apps?

Please share your opinions/experience/tipps and so on. :)

wojox
September 8th, 2010, 02:45 AM
Using KDE apps is in a way more like using windows apps through Wine, even though, they work fine and stable most of the time I guess? Or am I wrong?

No way. Kde and Gnome apps go together like peas and carrots (Forrest Gump). I've never had any problems using them together.

As long as you stay within the Ubuntu repositories you should be fine. ;)

Smart Viking
September 8th, 2010, 02:45 AM
Hello,
Is it always buggy when it comes to KDE apps under Gnome or should I just install the apps freely, not caring whether it's for Gnome or KDE?

KDE programs might have some problems running in gnome. but for the most they work nice, from my experience.