PDA

View Full Version : Assembly help

xefix
September 7th, 2010, 01:46 AM
Hi, everyone

I'm very new to assembly and am trying to figure out what it means when I have a memory location followed by parentheses with multiple comma-separated arguments, kind of like this:

memorylocation(,%eax,2)

Additionally, if anyone knows any good assembly resources/tutorials, I would very much appreciate it if you could point me to them. Thanks!

Wybiral
September 7th, 2010, 05:01 AM
In GAS assembly? It's address arithmetic.
If you've ever used NASM, think: [offset + eax * 2]

Here: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/X86_Assembly/GAS_Syntax#Prefixes (read the "Address operand syntax" section)

EDIT:

As a side note, I despise having to edit GAS assembly. AT&T syntax is much cleaner looking and IMO easier to visually parse through. If you haven't used an AT&T syntax (such as NASM) I'd recommend starting there. It's easier to learn the quirks of GAS after you learn the basics of assembly in AT&T syntax.

nvteighen
September 7th, 2010, 07:18 AM
EDIT:
As a side note, I despise having to edit GAS assembly. AT&T syntax is much cleaner looking and IMO easier to visually parse through. If you haven't used an AT&T syntax (such as NASM) I'd recommend starting there. It's easier to learn the quirks of GAS after you learn the basics of assembly in AT&T syntax.

Uh?

You got it inverted: GAS is AT&T and NASM is Intel :P But yes, NASM is more gentle for beginners.

foxmuldr
September 7th, 2010, 07:35 AM
Hi, everyone

I'm very new to assembly and am trying to figure out what it means when I have a memory location followed by parentheses with multiple comma-separated arguments, kind of like this:

memorylocation(,%eax,2)

Additionally, if anyone knows any good assembly resources/tutorials, I would very much appreciate it if you could point me to them. Thanks!