PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help booting from USB after failed Ubuntu install

naboreum
September 6th, 2010, 09:28 PM
Hello there,

Obviously I am new to the Ubuntu community and am having some problems getting it to work on my IBM Thinkpad R40 laptop. I chose the Netbook edition because that seemed to fit my laptop requirements perfectly. I tested it out using unetbootin and decided to install. While trying to install I got an error that it could not unmount /cdrom. After seemingly resolving that issue I tried to install again and restarted my computer. After restarting it does not load Ubuntu and will not boot from a USB or from a CD-RW.

I am not sure what the problem is and have tried everything I can think of/searched for on the internet to fix it and have finally come here.

Thanks

naboreum
September 6th, 2010, 09:54 PM
I created the bootable usb in OS X as well as the CD-RW could this be a contributing factor? Could the speed at which the CD was burned be an issue?

If you need any other info, please, let me know.

stee1rat
September 6th, 2010, 10:16 PM
Do you mean it doesn't load at all?

naboreum
September 6th, 2010, 11:10 PM
I mean the IBM screen appears with the option to hit the blue Access IBM button then the screen turns to black and there is just a blinking cursor at the top left corner.

wilee-nilee
September 6th, 2010, 11:18 PM
If your relying on the boot order set in bios this can be also done with a f-key prompt to get choice of boot, mine is f-12, I have seen it be others as well as esc. Start the computer and try the key prompts to get to this post bios boot from menu.

naboreum
September 6th, 2010, 11:26 PM
f12 for me asks what I could like to boot from but i get the same blinking cursor after choosing cd/room or the bootable usb which is recognized as a hard drive rather than a removable drive . I have also tried changing the boot order with the same results.

naboreum
September 7th, 2010, 03:43 AM
bump

any other thoughts?