PDA

View Full Version : Developing Program For Ubuntu

extraordinary_boy08
September 5th, 2010, 03:23 PM
Hi everyone!

I am a hobbyist on high-level programming languages such as C++ and Java and I'm just new to Ubuntu. I'm currently working on a different project involving some interaction with the operating system (which is Ubuntu). It is about a program that could monitor and control USB Flash Drive Access on a Network. Currently, I'm on the initial step of planning the program. My initial plan is that I'm going to use Java as the language and GTK + for my GUI.

My question is how am I going to use the OS-side 'USB-detecting' feature of ubuntu to be used for my program.

Can you also give me some links to some tutorials about using or invoking Ubuntu features (commands such as turning off, locking, refreshing a computer) to be used into another working program.

Thanks and more power!

dv3500ea
September 5th, 2010, 03:29 PM
Have a look here: http://www.advancedlinuxprogramming.com/

This seems to have the documentation specific to the low level interactions with Linux that are necessary for USB programming. I would learn this stuff (which will have a steep learning curve) before you even think of making a GUI.

extraordinary_boy08
September 5th, 2010, 04:09 PM
Have a look here: http://www.advancedlinuxprogramming.com/

This seems to have the documentation specific to the low level interactions with Linux that are necessary for USB programming. I would learn this stuff (which will have a steep learning curve) before you even think of making a GUI.

Thanks for the help. I just would like to ask an opinion if I'm my plans are possible to use Java for the purpose of the program. I just wanna make sure if I will be on the right track since this is my first time to work on a project outside the comfort zones of my knowledge. Thanks!

dv3500ea
September 5th, 2010, 05:05 PM