PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Error screen when trying to boot from CD

applescruff
September 5th, 2010, 02:30 AM
I am a newbie (obviously, since this is an installation problem) and slightly computer illiterate in general.

I tried to boot from the installation CD I burned. At first I thought it was going to work because I got a purple screen with the Ubuntu logo on it, but then it changed to an MSDOS-looking screen (white text on black screen) with the following message:

(initramfs) mount : mounting /dev/loop0 on //filesystem.squashfs failed : Input/output error

Can not mount /dev/loop0 (/cdrom/casper/filesystem.squashfs) on //filesystem.squashfs

I don't know if you need any of my computer info, my current OS is 64-bit Vista, trying to install 32-bit Ubuntu

applescruff
September 5th, 2010, 04:22 AM
Could the ISO have not been burned to disk correctly? I notice that while it's downloading it says the file size is 686 MB but then when it's done, it says 206 MB. I have downloaded the ISO twice with same result.

plucky
September 5th, 2010, 12:45 PM
See Howto Md5sum (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM)

Or

Use a Bittorrent (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BitTorrent) to download the Iso.

Also burn the image to CD at the slowest speed possible.

Good luck

gibbogle
September 5th, 2010, 09:09 PM
Could the ISO have not been burned to disk correctly? I notice that while it's downloading it says the file size is 686 MB but then when it's done, it says 206 MB. I have downloaded the ISO twice with same result.

I had exactly this experience, except that the first iso I downloaded was about 500 MB, not 206 MB. I downloaded it again and got a much bigger file. This checked out OK with md5sum, and ran properly. I don't know why the downloads don't work, perhaps overloaded servers.

applescruff
September 6th, 2010, 08:13 PM