PDA

View Full Version : gettext and marking translatable strings

GeoMX
September 2nd, 2010, 07:11 PM
Has someone tried marking translatable strings for existing code using emacs and PO mode?

I'm willing to translate a C program, it has lots of source files. I'm thinking of writting a script that would export character strings in the sources, I'd translate them and later replace them into the original files.

Before writting such a script, I found that gettext could be of some help here, there is an Emacs PO mode that would allow me to search for candidate strings for translation: http://www.gnu.org/software/gettext/manual/gettext.html#Marking

The problem is, I've never used emacs before, I've just installed and read the tutorial, but don't know how to make the commands work for my source file:

Search through program sources for a string which looks like a candidate for translation (po-tags-search).
M-,
Mark the last string found with ‘_()’ (po-mark-translatable).
M-.
Mark the last string found with a keyword taken from a set of possible keywords. This command with a prefix allows some management of these keywords (po-select-mark-and-mark).

I just can't figure out how to make these commands work, I open one file and enter PO mode, but typing [,] does not search strings but opens a buffer window for entering notes.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

worksofcraft
September 2nd, 2010, 09:31 PM
I'm thinking of writting a script that would export character strings in the sources, I'd translate them and later replace them into the original files.

With gettext you do not have to replace the strings in the original files. It saves your translations separately. One for each language. That gets used at run time to replace the original text depending on the user's chosen language.