PDA

View Full Version : What can I do with a secondary laptop computer?

TheNessus
September 2nd, 2010, 01:04 PM
Ok, I bought a new lappy recently which will be my main. Now I'm stuck with an Intel-t3400, 2gbRAM, 250GB computer. I can't sell it for any good money, other than about 20% its original worth or less, which won't make it quite worthwhile. So I'm looking for an idea about what I can use it for. I have zero knowledge in things like servers or firewalls or stuff.
:)

an0dos
September 2nd, 2010, 01:09 PM
Ok, I bought a new lappy recently which will be my main. Now I'm stuck with an Intel-t3400, 2gbRAM, 250GB computer. I can't sell it for any good money, other than about 20% its original worth or less, which won't make it quite worthwhile. So I'm looking for an idea about what I can use it for. I have zero knowledge in things like servers or firewalls or stuff.
:)

Then you now have a fabulous opportunity to learn about 'servers and stuff'. :)

You could always look into turning it into a media server for your TV. Laptops are nice because they use less power than desktops and have a built-in battery backup that lasts more than a few minutes.

wojox
September 2nd, 2010, 01:13 PM
Do you know .rpm's

You could always install Fedora on it and learn yum and rpm.

TheNessus
September 2nd, 2010, 01:17 PM
Do you know .rpm's

You could always install Fedora on it and learn yum and rpm.
I didn't like fedora at all. I do enjoy openSUSE though. But I could always do those on a virtual machine or the other lappy.

Interesting idea with the media server. However the onboard Nvidia 8200 graphics card overheats very easily, up to 90C even. It won't last when constantly viewing movies, especially HD. good opportunity to learn stuff though, yes,

TheNessus
September 2nd, 2010, 01:18 PM
I'm also considering donating it.

wojox
September 2nd, 2010, 01:19 PM