PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] cannot boot into ubuntu with CD or Wubi

Nycen
September 1st, 2010, 06:06 AM
Hello folks,
I am new to all this never having sought help in a forum so forgive me if i goof up ..I have recently discovered ubuntu and like it's elegance and simplicity and want to learn more about it "hands on". To this end I have tried to put it on one of my PC's running the Vista SP2 OS...When i try to install it with the CD the drive spins up then starts "hunting"..next the PC shuts down..black screen monitor.no KB or Mouse..the monitor flashes a box saying "power saving mode" then all is dead except for the power button being lit..I have to manually turn the PC off to recover...Next i did a D/L of wubi and rebooted as advised.Selected ubuntu on the BIOS and had the same final result as B4 with the CD. I have D/L and burned 2 CD's, one with my XP machine and the other with the Vista machine..Both CD's work as advertised on my XP machine (i did the "live" install) but not the Vista. The Vista machine is an HP with: AMD Athlon 64x2 3800+ CPU..3 GB of RAM..250 GB HDD. I do not like Vista ( i inherited the machine) it's a pain in the posterior. IMHO ubuntu and it's ilk are the way to go and i intend to do just that one way or the other. I am a little long in the tooth and not to swift with technical jargon or procedures so if you can help me it would be more then a little appreciated..Hope ya do, :D

Rubi1200
September 1st, 2010, 08:47 AM
Hi and welcome :)

What graphics card do you have on the Vista machine?

Take a look here for possible workarounds for booting the LiveCD:
http://ubuntu-tutorials.com/2010/05/06/ubuntu-10-04-lucid-blank-screen-at-startup-workaround/

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

bcbc
September 1st, 2010, 08:52 AM
Hello folks,