PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Browsing Window 7 system causes instant BSOD

bpsanborn
August 31st, 2010, 05:57 PM
Hi guys,

I am new to Linux and Ubuntu but an advanced user on Windows. On my home Workgroup network, I an running Ubuntu 10.04.1 on a spare PC and Windows 7 Professional on a fast 4 core AMD PC. I built both PCs myself. The Win7 system is fully updated with maintenance. So is the Ubuntu system. The Win7 desktop system sees and shares files and printers with an XP SP3 laptop and Win 7 Home edition Netbook... and the the Ubuntu system The Ubuntu system can browse and see shares on the the XP Laptop but not the Window 7 Desktop or Netbook. Both Win7 systems can browse and share the the Ubuntu system. There are no current problems anywhere in my Windows network.

Ubuntu gets into a login loop when trying to see the Win7 systems. But before that problem gets solved... I have problem with random BSODs (00007f) on the Windows 7 systems immediately when I first try to browse the network from Ubuntu. The effect is instantaneous. You click on an icon that will browse the network and bingo the Windows system takes a BSOD 00007f dump.

This appears to be something new in 10.04.1. I have loaded 8.04 and 9.10 in past just for training and and curiosity reasons and never had this problem. In the past, I lost interest and never went deeper. This time I have a dedicated PC in my network for Ubuntu and need to get deeply into Linux. I am trying to get up to speed on Linux this time around because I find that Linux systems are appearing in the network at work and I need to understand how to use and network Linux.

Any help would be appreciated.

Brian

endotherm
August 31st, 2010, 06:06 PM
on the win7 box, I would recomend shutting down all apps, and running (as admin from a terminal)

sfc.exe /SCANNOWand perhaps reinstalling samba on the ubuntu system.