PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu and TNT2: is it really that difficult? (or am I missing something?)

julio_cortez
August 31st, 2010, 09:26 AM
Hi everyone. First of all I warn you that I'm still a kind of noob in tweaking Ubuntu. I've made several "default" installations flawlessly, but this one is causing me problems.

Machine: 1,8GHz Athlon XP, 40GB IDE HD, 256MB DDR RAM, AGP TNT2 32MB
System: Both Ubuntu 10.04 x86 and Xubuntu 10.04 x86.

First try: I booted Ubuntu from CD trying to install it along with Windows (shrinking it). I could see a nice Plymouth loading screen (better than the one I see on my HD5xxx ](*,)), but nothing else.
As soon as Plymouth stopped loading, everything disappeared and I was left with a black screen.

Second try: I tried installing it with Wubi: it went perfectly, I rebooted, the menu to choose whether to load XP or Ubuntu was there.. I chose Ubuntu and I couldn't get past Plymouth. Again. It behaved the same, after the Plymouth screen, nothing.

Third try: I tried also Xubuntu. I could see Plymouth, after Plymouth I could see something that seemed some text, resulting in Noveau being unable to do something (so I guess it's something related to the video card being too old)..

In the end: Everytime I tried to install/load Ubuntu, it got stuck just after Plymouth. The only difference was Xubuntu returning some kind of Noveau error, while Ubuntu just showing a completely black screen.

So, do you think that any of these would help?

Trying an older version (maybe 8.04 which is a LTS)
Trying 10.04 alternate (I don't think it would change anything to be honest)
Trying something lighter (possibly basing on *.deb packages)

In the latter case, would you suggest me something in particular (keep in mind that I'm not experienced with Linux, so a CLI install would make me quake)?