PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] given a filename, which icon will gnome use for it?

weblordpepe
August 31st, 2010, 06:14 AM
Hi there fellow Ubuntu soldiers!

I have a need in my scripts I am currently working on. I need a way to display the correct icon for a given file.

Does anyone know of a way (any way) which I could be told the icon used by gnome (eg, /usr/share/icons/something/something.png) for a particular file? There are ways to get details about a file using the 'file' utility, but how to get the icon for that type of file etc is unknown. Personally I don't think Gnome even touches the 'file' utility since it can't tell anything without the correct extensions.

I have tried all kinds of things, investigating MIME & stuff and GTK themes but I can't seem to come to any proper conclusion since I'm a bit of a noob.

I understand I could possibly need to hook into Gnome APIs some how. Can anybody help me with this? I have two chocolate bars and a girlfriend for trade.

BrandyBear
August 31st, 2010, 06:23 AM
Im confused what do you mean which tells me.......I really dont get your thread:confused::(

psavva
August 31st, 2010, 07:25 AM
Hi there fellow Ubuntu soldiers!

I have a need in my scripts I am currently working on. I need a way to display the correct icon for a given file.

Does anyone know of a way (any way) which I could be told the icon used by gnome (eg, /usr/share/icons/something/something.png) for a particular file? There are ways to get details about a file using the 'file' utility, but how to get the icon for that type of file etc is unknown. Personally I don't think Gnome even touches the 'file' utility since it can't tell anything without the correct extensions.

I have tried all kinds of things, investigating MIME & stuff and GTK themes but I can't seem to come to any proper conclusion since I'm a bit of a noob.