PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ready to throw in the towel

darkbrewer
August 31st, 2010, 12:18 AM
I 've been trying to install ubuntu 10.04 on one of my computers for about 3 weeks and just when i think i solved the issue and reboot the computer i get this message:

GNU Grub version 1.98-1ubuntu7

Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported.For the first word,TAB lists possible command completions.Anywhere else TAB lists possible device or file completions.

grub>_

NOW can anyone explain or tell me what the heck am I suppose to do?
why do they make this process soooo hard for people who don't have a degree in programming.I so fed up now it's ridiculious,maybe i should sell my soul back to Microsoft and Bill Gates in order to get an OS to work on my computer!!! Can someone help me out .:-({|=

dell dimension 4400- 1G ram,P4 cpu,5ooGB HDD

johnson094
August 31st, 2010, 12:40 AM
I am a newbie and really can't get technical, but in reading posts over the last few days , I remembered this: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100806092127AAFj9lF

Don't know if it will help, but it may not hurt.

Best of luck.

an0dos
August 31st, 2010, 12:53 AM
I 've been trying to install ubuntu 10.04 on one of my computers for about 3 weeks and just when i think i solved the issue and reboot the computer i get this message:

GNU Grub version 1.98-1ubuntu7

Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported.For the first word,TAB lists possible command completions.Anywhere else TAB lists possible device or file completions.

grub>_

NOW can anyone explain or tell me what the heck am I suppose to do?
why do they make this process soooo hard for people who don't have a degree in programming.I so fed up now it's ridiculious,maybe i should sell my soul back to Microsoft and Bill Gates in order to get an OS to work on my computer!!! Can someone help me out .:-({|=

dell dimension 4400- 1G ram,P4 cpu,5ooGB HDD