PDA

View Full Version : Learning 2 programming languages at once?

geimas
August 30th, 2010, 11:40 AM
Hey.

I'm about to start my university Computer Science degree, and after looking through the curriculum, it seems I will be studying Java from the beginning.
However, I would also like to learn python. Would it be a good idea to learn both of these languages at the same time, or should I wait until I'm at least at a decent level with Java before I begin dwelling into other languages?

By the way, I have some programming experience, I had to learn Pascal as it was taught to us in high school and was ~70% of our final IT exam, if that matters, so I know the basic principles of programming up to arrays and functions.

I would really appreciate any opinions on this subject and advice.

Thank you in advance.

James78
August 30th, 2010, 12:19 PM
My opinion stands more on the principle of work load and stress. You'll have to learn Java not because you necessarily want too, but because it's in the curriculum. That makes it first priority in what you should work on learning first. And it sounds like you want to personally learn Python, so I'd say you should learn that in your free time.

Either way, you can learn both without a problem, as long as you aren't stressed out and can handle the work load. Don't wanna overload your brain by trying to learn too many things at once!

These are just my opinions, but I hope they help you, as I feel they're pretty reasonable ideas. Good luck!

rnerwein
August 30th, 2010, 02:07 PM
hi
my opinion is. if you realy want to study computer Science then start with the mother tongue of all the computers -
learning a assembly language first ( i know it's hard ). this will help you to understand all other programming languages on the fly.
why ? --> you will understand what's going on.
have fun.
ciao

anoop999
August 30th, 2010, 02:10 PM