PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Python 2 vs Python 3 for a Beginner

cj.surrusco
August 30th, 2010, 12:35 AM
I'm a beginner and I have never programmed before, and I am interested in learning a language. I've looked up comparisons of all of the different languages and have decided that I would like to go with Python.

I noticed that they came out with Python 3 recently, but is it better to learn that or Python 2? I've read that Python 2 scripts are not completely compatible with Python 3.

So, I have two questions:

1. If I learn Python 3, will I know enough to edit Python 2 code?

2. Would code that I write in Python 3 be that useful since most people still use Python 2?

Thanks in advance for any answers or input,

cj.surrusco

Dies
August 30th, 2010, 12:39 AM
1.) I would think so. It's not like it's a completely different language or anything.

2.) It would definitely be more "future-proof". Though you can expect Python 2 to be around for a long, long time.

worksofcraft
August 30th, 2010, 01:03 AM
I too am learning Python and I am glad I choose to learn Python 2 because practically all the tutorials on the web are written in Python 2. Also many really cool packages like gstreamer are not yet available in Python 3 flavour.

No doubt one day you will want to switch and by then you will know enough Python to find it easy, specially since there is an automatic tool to convert Python 2 code to 3 code... but none to go back :shock:

Carpentr
August 30th, 2010, 01:56 AM
I've just started to learn Python. I decided to go with Python 3 since it was newer. I figure eventually more and more people will wind up using it. As Python 3 gets older more documentation will become available.

I'm finding Python 3 to be an enjoyable language to learn programming with.