PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Advice for newbies like myself

johnson094
August 29th, 2010, 08:49 PM
Hi, I am a newbie and as of 3 days ago I had never laid eyes on Ubuntu. My son has been trying to get me to switch for some time now, so I have spent the last three days downloading, burning, backing up, formating, booting, uninstalling, reburning, downloading, reinstalling, booting and on and on and on. Finally I took a deep breath wrote down all the errors I had been getting and began to read these forums. Everyone seemed to say try this or try this or else they offered solutions that involved what appeared to require a masters degree in code writing. I kept at it..I tried those solutions which seemed to apply and kept a log of any errors at the point of the program failing. I then went back and searched and read.

Over the last days and nights I have tried to install 10.4 and 9.10 for 32 bit desktops. I payed close attention to forum posts that not only reflected my install problems but my hardware as well. I have a 7 year old HP Intel Pentium 386 with 1 gb ram, and dual HD (250/300 gb). That led me to download and try the versions for x86 desktops. I then got my install to progress to the point of partitioning. I thought maybe my computer wouldn't run the newer versions so I tried Version 8.10 and at this point found the x86 Alternative versions. This is when I finally saw a hint of impending success. I actually completed the live disk install and was ready to remove the CD and reboot.