PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Could not apply stored configuration for monitors

GoldStar
August 29th, 2010, 04:35 PM
Total newbie to Linux world.

Just installed Ubuntu 10.04 LTS on Microsoft Virtual PC 2007. Installation went OK.

When it starts I see the following message;

"Could not apply stored configuration to monitors. Error on line 1 Char 1. Document was empty or contained white space"

Maximum monitor resolution is 800x600 although my monitors is capable to 1280x1024 and Refresh Rate is 56 or 60. I should be able to choose 72Hz and over.

Thanks in advance

MrKitty
August 29th, 2010, 07:12 PM
I have a similar issue. After an update my "Nvidia Xserver" does not recognize my monitor all of a sudden displaying "unknown" instead of the monitor name and giving me 1024 x 768 resolution instead of the 1600x1200 that it used to -- This is on my user account -- Furthermore, if I switch to the "guest" user, the Nvidia Xserver recognizes the monitor like it used to and displays the proper resolution. What is going on?

gordintoronto
August 30th, 2010, 04:11 AM
GoldStar, I think you need to do more configuration in Microsoft Virtual PC 2007. I'm not sure, because I use VirtualBox, which is free.

MrKitty, your problem is only similar if you are running in a virtual machine. Otherwise, please use Google to find the solution to your problem.

wojox
August 30th, 2010, 04:25 AM
I have a similar issue. After an update my "Nvidia Xserver" does not recognize my monitor all of a sudden displaying "unknown" instead of the monitor name and giving me 1024 x 768 resolution instead of the 1600x1200 that it used to -- This is on my user account -- Furthermore, if I switch to the "guest" user, the Nvidia Xserver recognizes the monitor like it used to and displays the proper resolution. What is going on?

Open a terminal and run

sudo nvidia-xconfig

gksudo nvidia-settings

MrKitty
August 31st, 2010, 02:42 AM