PDA

View Full Version : Would you buy a Integrated Open Source Computer/Hardware?

kernel_script
August 29th, 2010, 01:43 AM
EDIT: I'm satisfied with the research results. Thanks to everybody that voted and commented. Thank you very much for taking the time to help with my research.

-------------------

Hi, this is a Market Research I'm doing, I'm a Business Student. And FLOSS user for many years, so, I'm following the path of Open Source Business Model, and would like to know what the users and possible clients think about a Open Sourcce Hardware Computer. Thank you very much in advance for your collaboration.

What such thing is good for? Why should I bother?

Imagine a computer that is created specifically to the Operating System, and vice-versa. It would work as one, no imcompatibility issues, performance maxed out. And no, Apple doesn't do that, they assemble their machines from diferent companies products and technologies, like Intel for the processor, NVIDIA or ATI for videocard, or Foxconn to create the physical case and integration of the components, they don't have their own Hardware factory and Hardware R&D facility, these jobs are made by third-party companies, which is cool, it's not a judgment, just a statement. Apple minimize the hardware imcompatibility issues to a minimum, optimizing their Operating System to work flawless with the integrated Hardware build they did, and on top of that, create a great design for the final product. If it is a good idea, and works nicely, imagine machines that is designed, created (manufactored) and assembled specificaly for the one Operating System and that one Operating System is created and assembled specifically for the machine in question, the end result would be fantastic. (Linux kernel would be the best base technology for the OS here, because of it's high end technology and flexibility, and of course, because of the easy of customizing, and, it been Libre and Open Source).