PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Boot XP Pro & Lucid on SSD... HELP!

DonkeyShark
August 28th, 2010, 10:07 AM
I just bought a Kingston 128GB SSD for my laptop. I've moved my 160GB HDD to the 2nd drive bay for a storage drive on the NTFS system. I'm splitting the 128 between XP Pro and Lucid Lynx. Previously, I had Lucid and XP splitting my 160 HDD. Lucid was screaming fast on the HDD, but I formatted the drive and put fresh installs on my SSD. Now, XP is screaming fast on the SSD, but Lucid takes a long time to boot up. It also hangs often during routine tasks. I pretty much gave up on Ubuntu because of this as I just don't have teh time it takes to try to solve the issues. I'd really like to use my Linux installation. I've read so many different ideas as to how to "properly" install Linux on a SSD, however I don't know my head from my **** in the Linux world and can't seem to follow anyone's instructions even though I have a degree in Mathematics and an IQ of 147. I feel like a retarded kid. Every instruction I follow either doesn't apply at one step or another or it yields an error.

I've read that you first need to properly align the drive ??? I have no idea what this means or why it would even matter. Can anyone explain this or invalidate these claims?

I've also read that you need to round off the drive? No clue what that means...

I've also read that SSDs require TRIM support but that Lucid doesn't provide it. Again, I have no idea what TRIM support is. Can anyone explain or invalidate this claim?

I've also read that NCQ must be enabled... Again, don't know what that is or how I would attempt to enable it.

I've also read that you need to update to GRUB2 or your install won't work. Again, I'm confused... I thought GRUB was just the screen you get to after BIOS that allows you to choose your operating system. I assume I'm incorrect and lend that there must be much more to what GRUB or GRUB2 is.