PDA

View Full Version : How difficult would it be to build my own computer?

andymorton
August 25th, 2010, 11:39 PM
Hi,

I've been thinking about doing this for a while now but the problem is I've got no previous experience of putting a system together. I've obviously got a lot to learn about how to do it and how the components actually work but I'm relishing the challenge.
Any advice would be gratefully received
Cheers
andy :)

juancarlospaco
August 25th, 2010, 11:41 PM
Buy a BareBone PC kit, its kinda DIY thing...

rollin
August 25th, 2010, 11:44 PM
Shouldn't be that hard IMO! Also you'll learn a lot from the experience. If you decide to use a Silverstone case or components I can vouch they give excellent support. Tell them everything what you want in the box and they will do their best emailing you advice for the PSU wattage etc. Even ask for basic advice like I want "x cpu" and "x mobo" etc with "x case"...
Check them out here: http://www.silverstonetek.com/index.php?area=

blur xc
August 25th, 2010, 11:47 PM
I was just like you about a year ago when I built my pc- but it turned out to be pretty easy.

The hardest part is researching what components to buy, balancing cost and performance, and trying ot make sure you are getting good quality parts.

Overall, it was great experience, and I'm not afraid to tear into my pc when I need to fix something, or install additional hardware anymore. It was a very positive learning experience, even with a few hiccups along the way, and I really encourage you to give it a whirl.

Building my own pc is pretty much what drove me to Ubuntu in the first place. It didn't sit well with me, to build my own pc, taking so much care and consideration in choosign every component, just ot hand it over the controls to MS and be a slave to anti virus, and anti spyware scans and update forever.

BM

juancarlospaco
August 25th, 2010, 11:55 PM
Touch the Floor! :D
because of static electricity

bowens44
August 26th, 2010, 12:08 AM