PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu cannot boot to desktop, corrupt graphics and a useless PC.

Ubuntarded
August 25th, 2010, 04:59 PM
As the name implies, I'm new to Ubuntu (and Linux in general). I installed Ubuntu on my desktop about a week ago, have had zero problems and the experience with it was highly enjoyable. However, after said week, my monitor went jaggedy with corrupt graphics, and ever since my bootup consists of a jagged, pixelated CROSSHAIR icon (my mobo), corrupt graphics (blinking music notes and omega symbols, though they seem to generate randomly and are not exclusive), and the Ubuntu splash that quickly disappears and goes to a black screen that ceases activity afterwards.

Quite the n00b here, yet I've tried every remedy I've found via Google on the subject, it seems others are having the same problem but there's not a universal fix (as far as I've seen). I have an Nvidia GeForce 7800 GTX but I can't figure out how to go about installing any new driver because I can't even get to my desktop. Any help with this is much appreciated, as my desktop is now on hiatus :(

...Other than that Ubuntu is awesome and works very well.

lechien73
August 25th, 2010, 05:20 PM
What happens if you try and boot from a Live CD, do you get the same problem?

The fact that your motherboard logo is also showing jagged and pixellated, would indicate that it is a hardware issue - rather than to do with your operating system - perhaps faulty video RAM?

Ubuntarded
August 25th, 2010, 05:29 PM
What happens if you try and boot from a Live CD, do you get the same problem?

The fact that your motherboard logo is also showing jagged and pixellated, would indicate that it is a hardware issue - rather than to do with your operating system - perhaps faulty video RAM?