PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NEWBIE: Problems Installing Ubuntu 10.04; I'n Loosing Patience

marine02xx
August 25th, 2010, 12:04 PM
All,
I'm new to Linux and Ubuntu. I recently downloaded Ubuntu 10.04 to an older computer. Here's info on the hardware:

Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 02)
Multimedia audio controller: Yamaha Corporation YMF-740C [DS-1L Audio Controller] (rev 03)
Ethernet controller: ADMtek NC100 Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet 10/100 (rev 11)
VGA compatible controller: S3 Inc. Savage 4 (rev 02)

PROBLEM: I get the "black screen" like everyone else has received when loading Ubuntu to an older machine. I have been using the Boot CD for days and I really need to get this machine running. I have over 600mb of RAM, so running the OS should be no problem. I have tried a number of possible fixes, and none seem to work. I'm thinking it's a video driver issue, but I am unable to upload drivers for the Savage4 video card (it's old, I know!) Common Kernel parameters modifications (i915,modeset=1 and 0, nomodeset, xforcevesa) have not worked for my machine. What else do I need to do?

I only have Ubuntu 10.04 as my only OS, I have been dealing with this for 4 days, and I am running out of patience. As a newbie, the language in some of these forums are confusing. If you want people to use the OS instead of Windows, SPEAK ENGLISH THAT WE NEWBS CAN UNDERSTAND!!! In my opinion, the Linux community is not doing a very good job communicating fixes well in these forums.

QUESTIONS
- What do I need to do to get Ubuntu 10.04 to work on MY specific system?