PDA

View Full Version : Anyone try Techsavvy?

razorboy5
August 25th, 2010, 02:11 AM
Hey

I'm moving into a house with a few friends in a few weeks and Techsavvy is one of the ISPs I'm considering on getting for the 8months of school year (love the fact it has no contracts)

however I have little experience with internet and such and decided to ask the most techy group of ppl i know. Techsavvy offers DSL (5M/800k) for around 40/month and Cable (10M/1M with 200gb bw cap) for around the same price. Which do u think is the better offer? We'll most likely have 2-3 playstations going at same time and not sure if 5M/800k is enough to run without lag however I am loving the no cap (since I've been screwed on multiple occasions by bigger ISPs)

Also I'm very confused about DSL (my whole life i've been using cable) as it uses phone lines does that mean it does not require a modem but rather just a router?

Thx for any info

Maverick_Meerkat
August 25th, 2010, 02:25 AM
Greetings,

DSL will indeed require a modem, but that should be supplied to you by the ISP. Additionally, it will require filters to be placed on all the active telephones which utilize that particular line. Those too should be supplied by the ISP. Generally, the modem and filters are provided free of charge or are included in the initial setup/installation cost.

Sorry, I can't answer your questions about Techsavvy in particular. Nor do I know how much bandwidth would suit your needs. I'm not a gamer. So, I'm painfully ignorant of what demands your multiple gaming platforms will place on the network. I'm certain someone will be able to provide the information you seek.

razorboy5
August 25th, 2010, 02:46 AM
Thx Maverick for a reply

I was confused since on the Teksavvy website, upon a DSL order u have an option to buy a Linksys WRT54GL router. Was confused as to why a dsl was packaged with a router instead of a modem and maybe thought dsl runs through router rather than modem :P