PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] Complete newbie to Linux

terrypink
August 24th, 2010, 05:10 PM
Hi everyone,

I was wondering, can you install Ubuntu on a Windows XP computer? I tried to install the Wubi program, but I never got the boot command prompt, it would go straight to Windows... and I tried to find the boot.ini file, but I couldn't figure out where it is...?

JamButty
August 24th, 2010, 05:32 PM
Take this with a grain of salt as one noob advising another.....
Wubi seems an unnecessary step. If you can download a file and burn it to CD, it is dead simple to install, or try without installing, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx.

The install with dual boot from CD (I did it 1 month ago) was very simple - only caveat; I got advice to make the partition myself with GPARTED and point the installation there. This was really not necessary and caused problems. If you let the installation CD create the partitions itself, it is all transparent. As long as you have 40+GB to spare, you will be up and running quickly.

Frogs Hair
August 24th, 2010, 05:38 PM
Hi everyone,

I was wondering, can you install Ubuntu on a Windows XP computer? I tried to install the Wubi program, but I never got the boot command prompt, it would go straight to Windows... and I tried to find the boot.ini file, but I couldn't figure out where it is...?

If Wubi installed Ubuntu properly then Ubuntu should be listed under Windows in the boot loader . If you don't select it by pressing the down arrow and hitting enter , Windows will load automatically after a pause.

If Ubuntu is not listed in the boot loader then installation failed. I suggest down loading the Ubuntu iso and making a disk.

rollin
August 24th, 2010, 05:41 PM
Hi everyone,

Welcome to the forum!

To install Wubi should be really easy with a live Ubuntu CD. All you need to do is burn the ISO image you downloaded of Ubuntu, to a CD, Img Burn is a good free software to do this.