PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] mdadm driving me nuts



Fafler
August 24th, 2010, 01:05 PM
So, i'm working on this machine, which trashed a ext4 filesystem yesterday. I need to make a RAID 0 array with two 1 tb drives for temporary data:

root@qnap:~# mdadm --create --verbose /dev/md1 --level=0 /dev/sde /dev/sdf
mdadm: no raid-devices specified.
root@qnap:~#

The system is debian squeeze and i already have a RAID 5 array running with sda, sdb and sdc. It doesn't matter if /dev/md1 is present or not (mknod vs. udev). What am i doing wrong here?

rdwilliamson85
August 31st, 2010, 03:55 AM
mdadm --create --verbose /dev/md1 --level=0 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sde /dev/sdf

Fafler
August 31st, 2010, 07:36 AM
No, that didn't work either. Anyway, i worked around without the raid. Thanks anyway ;-)