PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] uBuntu Minimal Install Package

Woodzrul
August 24th, 2010, 12:31 PM
Hello

I have currently got uBuntu 10.04 minimal installed on a desktop PC.

I am wanting to install VDIView onto this PC. http://code.google.com/p/vmware-view-open-client/downloads/list

Can I do this? If so, how?

Apologies if this is a noob question. I'm new to the world of Linux.

Thanks in advance.

terdon
August 24th, 2010, 12:52 PM
Hi, first of all never apologize for a noob question, thats what this forum is for! :)

Now, the easiest way to install software under Ubuntu is to use a .deb package. This is the equivalent of the setup.exe programs in windows.

Do you know if you are running a 32 or 64 bit system?
If not, open a terminal (Accessories=>terminal) and type this command:

uname -m

That will print out your system's architecture. If the output is "x86_64" you are running a 64bit system if it is something like "i686" you are running a 32 bit one. So, go to the link you posted and download either the 64-bit or the 32-bit deb. You then double click the file and install.

Good luck

Woodzrul
August 24th, 2010, 02:03 PM
Hi

Appreciate the quick response.

As I've installed uBuntu minimal it is all command line based. How would I go about installing the deb package and then launching?

Is this possible?

terdon
August 24th, 2010, 02:13 PM
Well, assuming you want the 32bit version, from the command line do:
wget http://vmware-view-open-client.googlecode.com/files/VMware-view-open-client_4.5.0-271013_i386.deb

This will download the package, now do
sudo dpkg -i VMware-view-open-client_4.5.0-271013_i386.deb

This will install the package.

Woodzrul
August 24th, 2010, 02:23 PM
Ok, the download worked a treat. GOOD MAN!!

I then ran the second command and it appeared to do something. But then I got the below errors back.

dependancy problems - leaving unconfigured
errors were encountered while processing

I'm assuming that it hasn't installed.