PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] how to find iso image after download

salima
August 23rd, 2010, 06:33 PM
after creating the dvd i vaguely remember seeing the iso file listed twice...i deleted one. now i cant find the iso image anywhere and i want to make a usb stick from it. when i bring up brasero it still shows two items for that file with the same name but if i click on either of them i get the same error that the file is gone.

the file is not in the trash.

is it really gone?

LowSky
August 23rd, 2010, 07:18 PM
Is anything ever really gone?
try this command from a terminal

find / -name *.iso

salima
August 24th, 2010, 05:21 PM

find / -name *.iso

i am pretty sure of the original name of the file, so this is what i typed:
Find / -10.04-desktop-i386*.iso
and got 'command not found'
then i retyped without the capital 'F' and got 'unknown predicate'

i typed this beginning from the $ prompt, is that correct?

sorry, i am very new at this. i need 'instructions for dummies'...

L Campbell
August 24th, 2010, 05:37 PM
after creating the dvd i vaguely remember seeing the iso file listed twice...i deleted one. now i cant find the iso image anywhere and i want to make a usb stick from it. when i bring up brasero it still shows two items for that file with the same name but if i click on either of them i get the same error that the file is gone.

the file is not in the trash.

is it really gone?

I'm not trying to be a wise guy here but did you look in 'Download'?

I wasted some time once, looking for something I had downloaded until I happened to look in Download.

silverglade00
August 24th, 2010, 06:17 PM
You need to type that command exactly without changing anything. Copy and paste it into the Terminal.

anaconda
August 24th, 2010, 06:21 PM
i am pretty sure of the original name of the file, so this is what i typed:
Find / -10.04-desktop-i386*.iso
and got 'command not found'
then i retyped without the capital 'F' and got 'unknown predicate'