PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New user Wifi issue

Cameron Murray
August 23rd, 2010, 05:53 PM
I've just set up a dual boot Vista/ Ubuntu Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop. I'm afraid I've only run Ubuntu for a few hours now so I'm a total novice with this OS.

I tried using the hardware driver tool (preinstalled with the OS) to find the driver, it poped up with two Broadcom drivers, I tried both but I found that neither were compatible with my wireless network card.

Then after trailing through a few forums and yahoo answers, I discovered the Windows wireless driver tool. I downloaded it and set it up. I managed to connect to my network. Wifi started working normally (as far as I know).

After a reboot, I discovered I couldn't find any networks, I tried reinstalling the driver with the windows wireless driver tool, as before. This time it still came up with "hardware present" although I still can't see any wireless networks.

When I go into the wireless tab in network options, I can see the name of my network (accessed an hour ago).

I have found a thread on this site who says he/ she had issues with making Ubuntu recognise the wireless card on the same laptop I am using.

The laptop does have a wireless button (enable/ disable) although I find no effect after pressing.

I'm afraid I'm a total novice, I may be doing something very trivial wrong, any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers
Cameron Murray

redbook4574
August 23rd, 2010, 07:17 PM
I've just set up a dual boot Vista/ Ubuntu Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop. I'm afraid I've only run Ubuntu for a few hours now so I'm a total novice with this OS.

I tried using the hardware driver tool (preinstalled with the OS) to find the driver, it poped up with two Broadcom drivers, I tried both but I found that neither were compatible with my wireless network card.