PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 10.04 installation in Averatec 32000 laptop locks up at 22%

JPR AuCoin
August 23rd, 2010, 07:17 AM
O:)
Averatec 3200 Laptop
AMD Athlon Mobile XP-M (LV) 2000
1525.923 mhz
512kb memory
40gig hard drive

Hello there, been at it for a while now, trying to install a Linux OS.
First Fedora, then Debian and now Ubuntu…. Learning as I go.
With Ubuntu which from what I have seen is the most user friendly and welcoming community, especially for Absolute Beginner like me!
I have checked summed and burned 3 times the 10.04 version at slow speed onto a DVD the CD version and all goes well till it get to the actual installation with the bar showing the progress. It has gotten as far as 26% before locking up. I am using the entire 40gigs for the install. I am reading as much as possible and starting to understand the command line scripts (emphasis on the starting). I have looked all over the place and can’t seem to find anything in regards to this specific problem. Forums, manuels, faqs, ect… could someone point me in the right direction? Thank you for any assistance you can offer!!

Thank you to who put the below quote in the forums….

A person with ubuntu is open and available to others, affirming of others, does not feel threatened that others are able and good, for he or she has a proper self-assurance that comes from knowing that he or she belongs in a greater whole and is diminished when others are humiliated or diminished, when others are tortured or oppressed. ~ Archbishop Desmond Tutu (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desmond_Tutu), 1999

JPR AuCoin
August 23rd, 2010, 03:28 PM
I have been downloading the netbook version, should I go for the desktop. I am working with a second computer which I hope to switch over to Ubuntu also. Another thought should I try a 9.04 version? I am downloading those options also

Chauncellor
August 23rd, 2010, 04:11 PM
Hi, there.