PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Repository timeout issues?



christiebunny
August 23rd, 2010, 03:42 AM
trying to install a few things (and reinstall citadel which is acting weird) and I'm having trouble both downloading citadel's newest package from the citadel server, and trouble installing a couple other packages too. I get:

Err http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid/main ntp 1:4.2.4p8+dfsg-1ubuntu2
Connection failed [IP: 91.189.88.31 80]
E: Failed to fetch http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/n/ntp/ntp_4.2.4p8+dfsg-1ubuntu2_amd64.deb: Connection failed [IP: 91.189.88.31 80]

and a similar error with the citadel repository too. Also, Web surfing anything but google.com also hangs, times out, or takes forever to resolve.


Additionally, my 'hostname -a', 'hostname -f' both hang, they return nothing at all and don't exit out to a comamand prompt without ^C. 'hostname' by itself works fine though and returns 'bunny.thewarren.ws' as it should.

I'm guessing they're related somehow -- and probably part of the reason citadel's acted weird since I moved everything over to 10.04 (64-bit, on new hardware, and clean install except for /home and /var/www)

I realize I've got multiple issues going on here, and they're likely not all related- but it seems to me the repository issue is a good first step to fix.... anyone have any ideas?

CharlesA
August 23rd, 2010, 04:31 AM
What does this return?


route


ifconfig

christiebunny
August 23rd, 2010, 09:14 PM
What does this return?


route


ifconfig


christie@bunny:~$ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
default qwestmodem.doma 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth0

------------

christie@bunny:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:e0:4d:08:cb:ed
inet addr:192.168.0.68 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:4dff:fe08:cbed/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:201056 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:164943 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:20376541 (20.3 MB) TX bytes:37403943 (37.4 MB)
Interrupt:20 Base address:0x2000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:48869 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:48869 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:14623039 (14.6 MB) TX bytes:14623039 (14.6 MB)


I don't have a clue if those are right or not :confused:

(and is there a way to get monospaced text, like courier, in posts?)

maikel.b
August 23rd, 2010, 09:42 PM
christie@bunny:~$ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
default qwestmodem.doma 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth0

------------

christie@bunny:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:e0:4d:08:cb:ed
inet addr:192.168.0.68 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:4dff:fe08:cbed/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:201056 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:164943 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:20376541 (20.3 MB) TX bytes:37403943 (37.4 MB)
Interrupt:20 Base address:0x2000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:48869 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:48869 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:14623039 (14.6 MB) TX bytes:14623039 (14.6 MB)


I don't have a clue if those are right or not :confused:

(and is there a way to get monospaced text, like courier, in posts?)

Do you have a dhcp server for your home connection?

When the dhcp server fails you can edit your own IP-address to your network interface..

Maybe this will work for you..

# vi /etc/network/interfaces
when you have a dhcp server and the server is using the default dhcp settings you see this
#############################
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
Change this file in





######
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
# The primary network interface
auto eth0
#iface eth0 inet dhcp
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.105
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1
And edit the file /etc/resolv.conf
# vi /etc/resolv.conf
domain dns-server-dell
search dns-server-dell
nameserver 192.168.1.103
edit your local or isp nameserver or the ipadress from your router this wil be the gateway
now restart the network
# /etc/init.d/networking restart
this wil load the settings you edit at the /etc/network/interfaces

edit the ip addresses to your local addresses..


Can you post here cat /etc/resolv.conf

This is for the dns server... you must have a correctly name server there.

christiebunny
August 24th, 2010, 01:46 AM
Do you have a dhcp server for your home connection?

<clipped>

Can you post here cat /etc/resolv.conf

This is for the dns server... you must have a correctly name server there.


christie@bunny:~$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 192.168.0.1
nameserver 205.171.3.65
domain domain.actdsltmp
search domain.actdsltmp


I've got a dsl modem/router, actiontec pk5000, it assigns addresses to everything, in the 192.168.0.xxx range (this one's .68)

I have no /clue/ what the domain/search entries are in resolv.conf, I'm not on a domain at all. the second nameserver's right, though I'm not sure why the modem's listed as the first.

I'll edit /etc/network/interfaces when I get back home and'll post an update.

wojox
August 24th, 2010, 01:49 AM
You need to try removing the colons off the end of the line


http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/...tu2_amd64.deb:

christiebunny
August 24th, 2010, 02:04 AM
You need to try removing the colons off the end of the line


http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/...tu2_amd64.deb:

I wouldn't know how to without editing the package index - any package from that repository, or from citadel's, does that. both from the command line and through synaptic. (And I've got other network issues too)

christiebunny
August 24th, 2010, 06:50 AM
I edited interfaces an rebooted - could finally 'aptget update' though it spazzed out on "http://security.ubuntu.com"

Ign http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/main Packages
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/restricted Packages
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/main Sources
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/restricted Sources
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/universe Packages
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/universe Sources
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/multiverse Packages
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/multiverse Sources
Ign http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/main Packages
Ign http://us.archive.ubuntu.com lucid-updates/main Sources
Err http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/main Packages
Connection failed [IP: 91.189.88.37 80]

-------------------

I tried installing npt again, but it still won't work:

root@bunny:/etc# apt-get install ntp
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Suggested packages:
ntp-doc
The following NEW packages will be installed:
ntp
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 12 not upgraded.
Need to get 559kB of archives.
After this operation, 1,450kB of additional disk space will be used.
Err http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid/main ntp 1:4.2.4p8+dfsg-1ubuntu2
Connection failed [IP: 91.189.88.45 80]
Failed to fetch http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/n/ntp/ntp_4.2.4p8+dfsg-1ubuntu2_amd64.deb Connection failed [IP: 91.189.88.45 80]
E: Unable to fetch some archives, maybe run apt-get update or try with --fix-missing?


This was after the interfaces rewrite, and after 'apt-get update' too.... any ideas?