PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu on ASUS EeeBox

md328
August 23rd, 2010, 01:53 AM
Hey guys,

Admittedly I'm pretty new to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I've been a windows user for as long as I can remember and have little experience on macs (never owned one). I just recently started getting into Linux/Ububtu when my roommate botched his computer up with another virus that pretty much did his windows os in. He was about to trash his computer all together until I on a whim told him about ubuntu. I've been reading about the incredible usability and versatility in the past couple years and I decided to finally give it a shot. Long story short: I installed ubuntu 10.04 on his lenovo successfully, started playing around with it before I gave it back to him (and it was a good week until that happened lol), and instantly fell in love with it.

So I decided that I want to have the same experience on my computer, which is a ASUS Eee Box nettop.

Below are some of my basic system specs:

Processor: Intel Atom CPU 330 1.60GHz
RAM: 2 GB (1.5 usable)

It also includes a nVIDIA Ion graphics card, wireless keyboard/mouse interface that came with the computer, DVD-RW Drive, 2 USB 2.0 ports, basic audio jacks, DVI port etc.

So I'm actually in the process of trying to install it on my computer now, but I'm having a problem: my computer won't boot from the Ubuntu liveCD. I triple checked to make sure that I'm not missing hitting a key to enter boot mode and I've tried some anyway (no luck). I tried other distros such as openSUSE 10.3 and PCLinuxOS and no luck with those either, although when I put the livecd in while in windows openSUSE installed some sort of bootloader screen as shown below.