PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Config defaults for GNOME Power Manager

cfishburn
August 23rd, 2010, 12:10 AM
Ubuntu 10.04, locked up and could not recover, when I shut down and
booted back up I got error message:"config defaults for GNOME Power Manager have not been installed correctly". I went searching for an answer and found
some possible solutions by going to the terminal. Using ctl+alt+F1. Then it asks for my desktop login, I entered my login and then the password was requested. I entered my admin password, but it would not accept it. The other thing I notice is that the cursor did not move when I entered my password. What am I missing. I'm a novice at fixing Ubuntu, end user mostly, with some experimenting with packages and some terminal line use.
I'm currently operating from my 10.04 disk I burned about 2 months ago.
Chris

Chauncellor
August 23rd, 2010, 11:24 PM
Okay, this seems a little tricky.

Try this command in the terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal):

sudo dpkg-reconfigure gnome-power-manager

and enter your password (there will be no visual feedback but it knows that you are typing).

cfishburn
August 25th, 2010, 01:43 AM
Thanks Chauncellor. Ran you suggestion, then went to reboot.Not sure how
to do that from terminal line, so I shut down the computer and turned it back on. Then I got a lot of error messages and file not found. I shut down again and came back up with the cd. I mounted my hard drive and it seems my
root file is unreadable. So I think I'm left with saving all the files from my hard drive and reloading Ubuntu from cd. What do I need to save outside my home file, especially interested in saving the Firefox info and the Evolution info. Any help appreciated.
Thanks
Chris

Chauncellor
August 25th, 2010, 01:55 AM
Well, your firefox and evolution configuration folders are hidden in the Home directory (most programs are). Bring up the file browser in your home folder and enable hidden folder viewing (View>Show Hidden Files).