PDA

View Full Version : [ASSEMBLY]Difference between GAS and HLA? And which is best to start with [ASSEMBLY]

P-Geist
August 21st, 2010, 07:57 AM
Hey guys and gals.

Im new to assembly and want to make a very basic OS later once i know a bit of assembly. So i went to the stickied thread on starting programming and went to the assembly part in which i found these two headings GAS and HLA, now i doubt that HLA stands for 'Hot Lesbian Action' i know it stands for 'High Level Assembly' and GAS stands for another thing, but which should i choose to start with and what resources are there other than the ones posted in the above mentioned thread?

Thanks Ubuntu Forums,
P-Geist

xb12x
August 22nd, 2010, 03:15 AM
Well since nobody has replied to your question yet, I'll add my opinion for what it's worth.

If you are going to learn assembly coding learn the Intel syntax. Most of the assembly code in the world uses the Intel syntax.

Previously GAS (the Gnu Assembler) used only the AT&T syntax for the x86/x86-64 CPU's. The latest version of GAS now supports the Intel syntax via the .intel_syntax directive.

However, my favorite assembler for Linux based projects is NASM. For me it is much more intuitive and straight forward than GAS, has much better support, examples, etc. An added benefit of using NASM is that your code could be easily made to assemble using MASM (Microsoft's assembler for DOS/Windows, etc). You can install it from Ubuntu's Synaptic Package Manager.

Anyone that writes any assembly professionally will almost _always_ use Intel syntax. Anything not written in Intel syntax is the exception that proves the rule.

P-Geist
August 22nd, 2010, 03:33 AM
Thanks, that was a very detailed explanation. But still my question remains un-answered. I am using NASM, but the tutorials here are for either GAS or HLA. Which would be more appropriate for a NASM user?

P-Geist.

xb12x
August 22nd, 2010, 04:05 AM
If you want to learn a "high level assembler" learn 'C'.