PDA

View Full Version : What Approach for Making a Photographer's Website?

p.s.
August 20th, 2010, 08:30 PM
My girlfriend is a film photographer and painter. She wants a website but we're not exactly rolling in $$$ so paying someone is basically out.

I recently learned some HTML and CSS to make a website for work because our normal web person was in situ having a baby. It turns out I really enjoyed it, so I'd like to surprise her by making her a site.

So if I wanted to make a nice, clean site for her that basically had information and then a gallery that will be relatively easy for her to manage, I would use HTML, CSS, and ?????

(It seems like maybe I want to look into PHP or something? As a relative newb on what the web is actually made out of beyond HTML it's hard for me to parse all the different languages' descriptions on the net. I know what CSS is as of like two weeks ago, even though I've been hearing people say it for ten years or whatever.)

Relevant notes:

1. Although I don't know too much about this stuff, I'm technically proficient in general. I use Linux/use CL/like math/understand the rationale behind languages in general/geek out and enjoy it. In short I don't necessarily need something "easy". I really enjoyed starting to learn HTML, even though I only did it out of necessity. I'm more looking to save time on the process of figuring *what* to learn than on the actual learning.

2. I don't want to use a pay service, or a blogging service like tumblr, or wordpress.

Suggestions on what tack to take on this would be appreciated.

Thanks!

tgm4883
August 20th, 2010, 08:42 PM
Yay, more oregon people :)

On topic, don't recreate the wheel. I'd suggest using something like gallery.

http://gallery.menalto.com/

:EDIT:

As a note to your 2nd point, the software is free, but you would need a webserver to install it onto.

p.s.
August 20th, 2010, 09:06 PM