PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installation Hangs on a Black Screen

flatman
August 20th, 2010, 03:42 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm totally new to Linux and Ubuntu, but I've already hit a dead end. I'm trying to install Ubuntu on an iMac G4, and I had a promising situation the first time through but I botched the install due to my newbishness and haven't been able to boot from the install CD since.

Here's the situation:

Hardware
800 Mhz G4
256 MB RAM
15" LCD display
32 MB GeForce2 MX Video Card
"Standard" Airport Wireless Card
(more details here (http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac_800_fp.html))

What Happened
After poking around on the forums some and reading through some of the wiki pages, I decided that 8.04 would be a good place to start, so I downloaded and burned an install disc. My first attempt booted almost perfectly, but I confused the "booting from the CD" with "installed Ubuntu" (Iknow, I know...), and promptly rebooted back into OS X.

Since then, I've been unable to successfully boot from the CD. Using the 8.04 disc, I'm prompted for what style of install I'd like, and I feebly type "live," the ramdisk loads, and then the screen goes blank, reads "loading" in the upper left for a second, the optical drive whirs for a bit, and then everything hangs on a black screen with a white cursor in the upper left. I thought I might just be impatient, so I let it sit overnight, but there was no change in the situation.

I know this isn't much information to work with. Is there a way to enable a more robust boot description? Something that will let me know what's going on when the screen goes blank and the optical drive whirs? It seems to hang in the same place, so knowing what's going on at that moment might be helpful.

Either way, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

avtolle
August 20th, 2010, 04:21 PM