PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Netbook 10.04 for Sony Vaio W-series (VPCW211AX)

IperBug
August 18th, 2010, 11:31 PM
Hi all, first post here and first Linux experience for me. I apologize in advance if any question sounds silly and should be better posted in the Absolute Beginner Talk.

I decided to try Ubuntu Netbook 10.04 on my Vaio W-series. I still have the original Windows starter and installed Ubuntu next to it. As a first novice experience, I got to say it went pretty smooth.

I would like you to share your issues here. At the moment, the most annoying one is related to the built-in microphone not working properly (it seems like the volume is super low). I tried to play with the alsamixer, muting, not muting, increasing the volume, but it does not seem to work.

As a consequence, I cannot make good use of Skype and alike. Any suggestion?

External hardware (USB keys, printer, external CD reader/writer) seem to work just fine. Also, I do not have the issue related to the immediate suspension of the laptop when it is running on battery (it is reported here: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/HardwareSupport/Machines/Netbooks)

Any help will be appreciated. Also, if you need more info on my side, just let me know.

IperBug
August 19th, 2010, 05:24 AM
Here are some specs:

#uname -a
Linux IperBug-laptop 2.6.32-24-generic #39-Ubuntu SMP Wed Jul 28 06:07:29 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux

#cat /proc/asound/devices
2: : timer
3: : sequencer
4: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
5: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
6: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
7: [ 0] : control

#head -n 1 /proc/asound/card*/codec#*
Codec: Realtek ALC262

#cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.21.

Info on my motherboard

#udo dmidecode -t bios
[sudo] password for IperBug:
# dmidecode 2.9
SMBIOS 2.6 present.

Handle 0x0000, DMI type 0, 24 bytes
BIOS Information
Vendor: INSYDE
Version: R0240E2
Release Date: 12/07/2009
ROM Size: 1024 kB
Characteristics:
PCI is supported