PDA

View Full Version : Oh text editors. I ask too much

ghostandmachine
August 18th, 2010, 10:45 PM
I'm looking at text editors. I know there are a ton of choices and I've tried about 60% of them. I'm a writer: short stories, novels, poetry. etc. And I'm looking for something that'll be lightweight (console) but still get the job done.

Basically what I'm looking for is a console editor with "writer"-like features. Such as: word count, word wrap, placing headers and footers, spell check. Printing line numbers would also be nice but I'm not picky.

Any ideas? or am I stuck with bloated gui editors with tons of features I'll never use?

Thanks in advance

Austin25
August 18th, 2010, 10:48 PM
It's gui, but it isn't very bloated: abiword. The most powerful cli editor I know is emacs.

TriBlox6432
August 18th, 2010, 10:49 PM
Vim

Zorgoth
August 18th, 2010, 10:51 PM
If you are looking for a console text editor, emacs is probably the most powerful, and is light, extensible, customizable, and probably given any common command you want to perform you can do using nothing but a few keystrokes. Search and replace is so easy that I often use search even for navigating within one line. However, emacs has a learning curve, probably of 2 weeks to a month of frequent use.

Nano is probably the easiest editor, but is not as powerful as emacs.

And vi is for if you are brain-damaged :P

Zorgoth
August 18th, 2010, 10:52 PM
Here is an emacs how-to, courtesy of me:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1542042

Note: You can run emacs in a console with emacs -nw.

It is theoretically lighter, but you probably won't notice the difference. Either emacs will be much faster than you are. I would recommend the X version of emacs because you can select with the mouse and middle click to paste, and other handy things like that. Although as a writer that particular trick might be less useful than as a programmer.

Queue29
August 18th, 2010, 10:56 PM