PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Advice building a Ubuntu Samba file server

chris2922
August 18th, 2010, 07:17 PM
Hi everyone, i've been using Ubuntu Desktop for a few years but am finally posting to the forum for advice on building a server.

I currently have a QNAP 'TS-209' 2 bay NAS. I have it set to RAID1 - Mirror. Its a handy little box, performing tasks like scheduled Bit Torrent downloading, and can stream to my Ubuntu / XBMC boxes around the house no problem - a couple of different 720p streams at the same time runs fine with no dropped frames.

Thing is, im out of space. I dont want to start backing up to DVD because the point of my media library is that its online all the time. I have already reached the QNAP's disc size limit with 2 x 2tb drives, so i need a new server.

I was going to get a QNAP 4 bay system, but to try and future-proof myself a stage further I am considering building a Ubuntu box and running the Server O/S on it. I would then connect the server to one of these:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132016

Its a "Rosewill RSV-S8 SATA 8-Bay RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Storage Enclosure / Port Multiplier/ PCIe card included".

Apparently the eSATA card included is a bit slow (?), but the enclosure is fine.

I hope the result of this would be i get a much more expandable server than a 4 bay QNAP - but im worried it might prove to be hard to set up, and im not sure if a Ubuntu server can replicate some of the features of the NAS - namely:

1) Remote log in to server for admin tasks so it doesnt need a screen/keyboard/mouse. The QNAP has quite an extensive web-based admin client.
2) Remote login to control a Bit Torrent client.

I had considered Windows Home Server because it seems to provide the remote login side of things - but id rather go with Linux if possible.

I've rambled on enough - can anyone offer any advice/info?

arrrghhh
August 18th, 2010, 10:33 PM
You can certainly do those two things with Ubuntu server.