PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No "Preferences"

berlinick
August 18th, 2010, 11:53 AM
Hello!

I am very new to Linux, so please be patient ;)

I have a little problem: I wanted to install Russian keyboard layout on my xubuntu 9.10 and probably even did it correctly. But I can't find the shortcut to change keyboard layout. In relation to this: I have found that there is no "Preferences" option in my "System" menu, where the keyboard shortcuts' settings should be (System -> Preferences -> Keyboard Shortcuts, right?).

I will be glad about your replies.

Nick

stinkeye
August 18th, 2010, 12:32 PM
Right click on the main menu > edit and check it is ticked.

Alternatively alt+F2 to bring up the run application dialogue and run

gnome-keybinding-properties

Oops didnt notice you were using xubuntu.

berlinick
August 18th, 2010, 12:49 PM
Oops didnt notice you were using xubuntu.

Do you know, how to do it under xfce?

stinkeye
August 18th, 2010, 01:18 PM
Do you know, how to do it under xfce?

No, sorry never used xfce.

Spice Weasel
August 18th, 2010, 01:40 PM
Settings > xfce4 Settings Manager > Keyboard should do fine.

berlinick
August 18th, 2010, 03:08 PM
No, sorry never used xfce.

No problem. I'm just experimenting on my older laptop. Dell Latitude, about 6 years. A very good machine actually, a weak graphic card though. Normal Ubuntu just didn't run properly on it :( Xubuntu flies like a butterfly :)

berlinick
August 18th, 2010, 03:09 PM
Settings > xfce4 Settings Manager > Keyboard should do fine.

Cool, thanks! I'll try that out tonight. Will post my experience report here :)

3Miro
August 18th, 2010, 04:23 PM
For keyboard layouts under XFCE:

Right-click on the top or bottom panel and select "add new item". Then look for "Keyboard Layouts". This should display a small US flag indicating that you are using English Layout. Right-click on the flag -> Properties and then Add would give you a list of choices for languages and keyboards.